Welcome to our Website ... Support our fight against human rights violations in CHT .......... LATEST NEWS......... Satisfactory turnout for Mizo polls..............

Satisfactory turnout for Mizo polls

Aizawl, Oct. 30, 2006 (PTI):

Brisk polling was reported from a majority of polling stations in Mizoram, as voters queued up today to decide the fate of the six candidates who are in the fray for byelections in two Assembly seats.

Reports from Tlungvel constituency and the Chawngte seat in south Mizoram’s Lawngtlai district said a good turnout was reported in majority of the polling booths.

Tlungvel constituency has 14 polling stations and 11,281 voters.

Three candidates are in the fray including the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) candidate Lalchhandama Ralte, who is contesting for the second time.

The Opposition Congress and Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) had forged a pre-poll alliance and fielded a common candidate, Lalthanliana, in the constituency. Rualkhuma Hmar, the Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) candidate is contesting for the first time.

The Tlungvel seat was lying vacant following the death of sitting Congress MLA Sainghaka last July.

Chawngte constituency has 35 polling stations and 11,101 voters. Alak Bikash Chakma of the MNF, former Congress minister Nirupam Chakma and Indralal Chakma, an Independent candidate are in the fray from Chawngte. While A.B. Chakma had contested earlier as BJP candidate, Nirupam Chakma had won from this seat five consecutive times before losing the 2003 polls.

The byelection in Chawngte was necessiated by the resignation of sitting MLA R.M. Chakma of the MNF early this year on grounds of holding an office of profit.

Source: Telegraph India

Similar News